Free online Ashtanga Yoga lessons

Utkatasana Vinyasa Ashtanga Primary Series

Utkat Asana Vinyasa in Ashtanga Yoga Primary Series

Utkat Asana is part of the Primary Series of Ashtanga Yoga. The asana position is held for a total count of 5 and the number of vinyasa in half vinyasa is 11 and in full Vinyasa it is 13. This is an excellent pose for the strengthening of the legs, arms, and shoulders. The Vinyasa count for Utkatasana is as follows: 

  • 1 Ekam:        inhale/take 1st position of Surya namaskar.

  • 2 Dve:           exhale/take 2nd position of suryanamaskara

  • 3 Trini:         inhale/take the 3rd position of suryanamaskara

  • 4 Chatvari:   exhale/take the 4th position of suryanamaskara

  • 5 Pancha:     inhale take the 5th position of suryanamaskara

  • 6 Shat:          exhale/take the 6th position of suryanamaskara

  • 7 Sapta:         inhale/jump between hands and come up in Utkatasana / take hands up / Breathe 5X

  • 8 Astau:        inhale/lift legs up using hand strength.

  • 9 Nava:         exhale/jump back to Chaturanga Dandasana.

  • 10 Dasa:        inhale/to Urdhava Mukha Shvanasana.

  • 11 Ekadasa:   exhale/to Adho Mukha Shvanasana.

Drishti in this pose is Hastagre Drishti. Fingers of both hands are kept together and palms are joined together. For therapeutic purposes, the pose can be held for longer periods or as suggested by the teacher. Please 

Contact us for more information & Subscription

We are a Yoga Alliance certified Ashtanga Yoga School.

We Believe Yoga is freedom !!!

Which is achieved through the practice of Yoga with 100% awareness.

Join us to learn the practice and experience freedom.

Contact Us

Get in touch

Om Yoga Shala

Sawant Wadi, Agonda

Goa, India - 403702

Phone : +91 6375608937


Om Yoga Shala

4/187, Shipra Path, SFS

Mansarovar, Jaipur, India

Phone : +91 9828011568

                  +91 6375608937

email  :

Whatsapp : +91 9828011568

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram